Welcome to Procrastinators Anonymous

One BIG problem I have is “just checking that website” or “just seeing if I can beat by high score” or “just reading a chapter of that trashy aeroplane novel” when I’m going to start studying (I think it’s the grown up version of “I’ll do it when I finish this level, mum!”). Here is a list of five things I must stop doing when I really should start studying. I’m hoping that by writing it down and putting it out there for all the world to see I might shame myself into not doing them any more – think of it like Procrastinators Anonymous, if anyone else wants to air their dirty laundry and share with us all what they need to stop doing, go right ahead!

I’ll go first:

  1. The internet – big, dark, scary place with way to many things which seem interesting and important at the time
  2. RSS feeds – must stop obsessively checking every five minutes when should be studying
  3. Daytime TV - Dr. Phil, Oprah, bad American sitcoms with laugh-tracks and repeats of Blue Heelers (Aussie cop show) are way to distracting and really not interesting enough to waste an hour of my life on
  4. Any book by Tom Clancy, John Grisham, Dan Brown or Robin Cook (this is not an exclusive list) – no indictment upon the authors themselves, it’s just that their books are way too distracting
  5. Bubbles – this game is ruining my life. I play it on my Rockboxed iRiver H320 and I’m now obsessed with beating my high score (somewhere in the 4,000’s – a bad thing)

Now it’s your turn.

Explore posts in the same categories: Productivity/Tools, Tips and Tricks

26 Comments on “Welcome to Procrastinators Anonymous”

  1. James Says:

    If you are getting distracted by Blue Heelers you have serious problems mate

    Keep up the good work


  2. I know. It’s a problem which I’m working on. It’s a lot easier now that they’re up to the really recent episodes (I watch the 2:00 repeats) which are, to be honest, really, really bad! Nonetheless I’ve got it down to one episode every two weeks or so and soon I hope to wean myself off it completely. Dr. Phil is a different story, however! ;)

  3. Daniele Medri Says:

    Hi, my name is Daniele and I am a procastinator,

    my main problem is with the continuos check for new mail.
    It’s like a tamagochi, you know what I mean? :)

  4. Sean Kearns Says:

    I’ve got the same problems. Minus everything except the internet. Ok, so just one problem. Once I find something that I like, like your site, I want more. That takes up the majority of my time.

    Boycott procrastination!

  5. Swami Says:

    Invisibility cloak
    This may come in handy. I use it to prevent myself from checking some sites absentmindedly.
    1. It works with firefox only (and I don’t use IE if i don’t have to).
    2. You need to install the Greasemonkey firefox extension.
    3. Then you have to install the use script (found on the lifehacker site)
    4. You can manage the script by editing it (you can basically allow yourself to check those sites say after 5 in the evening or only during lunch, etc.) if you want to.

    HTH


  6. That’s an awesome post, Swami. Thanks for pointing it out. I wish I had the will-power to be able to do that all by myself but unfortunately I need help!


  7. ok, my current top 5 time / concentration killers:

    1. del.ici.us (man, I gotta stop clicking that “recent” button…it’s an idle-time-nothingness-filler”)
    2. rss feeds (yes, the 5 minute syndrome)
    3. GTD and productivity sites (I spend more time browsing then accomplishing)
    4. Music (I switched to electronica and instrumental stuff (but I stay away away from new-age because it creeps me out) anything vocalized got me to sing in my head, then whispering it and in 10 minutes I’d be mentally on MTV’s Award show doing a cameo with the Red Hot Chilli Peppers)
    5. My girfirend’s daytime TV addiction on the background… (ear plugs are my best friend now)

  8. wikipedia Says:

    Personally, I have no idea why people would not understand how to do this.

  9. Music Master Says:

    Personally, I thought this music was the best. My forum has been packed with new age comments. Sort of cool!!


  10. the best way to go about it is to come over to my hospital room and smell my lruid crotch flaps! get a sniff of these mucous flaps with hair and you will be astounded at their depravity! Just think: a scent of rotten onions, mixed with a slight twinge of human poop! Doesn’t that give you a serious desire to smell and lap my crotch curds and to scoop of my flap cheese!

  11. Ryan Cheung Says:

    Ok, I’ll admit to my guilt…

    1 – Playing one more game of Pro Evolution Soccer 6.
    2 – Updating music/videos onto my iriver clix.
    3 – Checking RSS feeds as well.
    4 – Checking my favorite message boards or blogs.


  12. Out looking for ideas on a candle blog and found this site. I’m fresh out of creativity and needed new thoughts on themes, colors, etc. I have some new ideas now, thanks.


  13. Great blog please come and check my blog out.

  14. music 123 Says:

    great site! come check out my blog site on music.


  15. great blog come check out my blog

  16. Monique Says:

    I love your blog, because I’m searching for unique articles, and good content, what I’m interested in.
    Congrats!

  17. dropshipping Says:

    Nice Blog. I will keep reading. Anyways check out mine.

  18. free master Says:

    Personally, I dont understand how people dont get this but thats another story

  19. james Says:

    That makes me so happy to hear!!! Good luck


  20. Personally, I never use more than one life on this if I understand this correclty. I just wonder why so many do not understand how this is. I guess that is the beauty of it all. Good post though!!

  21. wikipedia Says:

    Wikipedia is the key to most success online, when it comes to collabritive content adding. I have spent many hours writing articles for Jimmy Wales and am very happy with this project. I am based in Seminole FL close to the wikipedia offices in St Petersburg. I love contributing!

    Happy New Year Bloggers!


  22. I found free music downloads and more on this blog that I thought was illegal to do. Why or how can someone offer copyrighted materials like that

  23. lwsrmsgmag Says:

    gay cops spanking


  24. I’d really enjoy if you go on posting new data about the topic since it really assists my wife to get a diploma.

  25. Deanne Byner Says:

    Cool post. I happened to find it on Yahoo. This website is ranking well there. :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

